The day-tiara project

Or tiar-a-day, if you will.

For a couple weeks now, I’ve been making and wearing a tiara every day. Closer around my birthday, it was cute and playful. Further from my birthday, it was tolerated: “ok, another tiara. We get it; you had a birthday.” If you don’t know yet why I’m continuing my tiar-a-day quest, you should know. Lest you just think I demand princess-level parties daily. I mean, if you want, we can talk about those later. I’m always accepting of parties.

So, why daily tiaras? I’m not a princess, and only once in a while act like an entitled one. Sometimes. But here’s the thing: we should all, every one of us, make sure we give ourselves even five minutes of royalty treatment each day. For me, those minutes are the ones with no meetings, no chores to do, no one else’s feelings to consider: just a few minutes of unfiltered me-time. And right now I choose to use them to craft tiaras. Then all day while I wear the tiara (headband, whatever), I can remember that I’m worth those five minutes, and you are, too. And if someone asks about it, I’ll tell them that.

You should wear a tiara if you want. Why not? How is it any different than (gold!) shoes you love, fruity lip gloss, or a latte treat? Take some time for yourself. You don’t need to feel guilty about it. Honest. For real.

You want a tiara to remind you? I can help with that. I’ll post my daily tiaras and share them IRL as much as I can to the people I know, and for everyone else? Tutorials! Wheee!
Here is today’s simple and work-subdued tiara. Just some stretchy silver cord knotted a few places and with some beads between certain knots:

One thought on “The day-tiara project

Leave a Reply

