Going to the birds

Today as I’m sitting at my desk, two red breasted woodpeckers are making a home in the tree I call Quasimodo. He’s gnarled and bent and doesn’t look more than half alive, but he makes a good tree for birds, I guess. The woodpeckers have an upstairs neighbor, a grackle, in a hole up higher on their branch.

20120323-122251.jpg

Meanwhile, I got so wrapped up listening to my screech owl, which we named Prin-prin (said the French way), that I left my phone outside all night. Last week a tree crew accidentally cut the hollow branch he lived in, so I’m glad to hear him in the yard still.

I haven’t heard the horned owl pair of a while now, but they’re usually in front of the house while Prin-prin hangs out in the back.

I’m loving all these birds!

 

Leave a Reply

