Why I want a simpler life

The Tiny Life , Archive » Richard Heinberg On Post Carbon Society.

Richard Heinberg (the video at the link, about 12 min long) pontificates exactly how and why I want to simplify:

  • We can use and buy less and actually be happier.
  • We can use oil (or other resources) more sparingly, save money in the process, and be healthier along the way.
  • Hard work is rewarding, not a punishment (and this from a notably lazy person).

In other posts, I’ve calculated out how much having a car costs me each year. Now imagine how much less a smaller house, more meals at home (and sourced from home), and my own sourced power would all cost me. I could easily cut my life-costs in half, I’m thinking. Green actually is cheap!

Leave a Reply

