The No-Refrigerator Challenge

The No-Refrigerator Challenge, issued by Rowdy Kittens.

Yeah, I coulda put an image of beautiful veggies being kept cool in the fridge, but let's be real. This is more accurate for my lifestyle. Image from http://www.waark.com

Now that I’m getting weekly product bushels, I wonder if I could hack this. Dairy’s not much a part of my life, and most produce is better eaten right away anyway. I’d already been thinking about this desert cooler from Africa (a zeer pot), for my little back-yard structure. No, City of Austin, I’m not building a house back there. It’s a shed… in which I happen to work and sometimes fall asleep, and in which I like to store snacks for myself and also have a sink to wash my hands after gardening, and also with a waterless toilet for… um… use with the pool, so people don’t have to go inside.  Yes, that’s the ticket.

Hmm..

More info on the zeer pot, including a pdf with instructions: http://www.slashfood.com/2006/09/28/how-cool-is-that-zeer-pot/
http://practicalaction.org/food-production/zeerpots

2 thoughts on “The No-Refrigerator Challenge

Leave a Reply

