Another hat trick

This weekend (last weekend, now) I took my needles up to visit my nieces (oh, and timer permitting, sell my house).  The five-year-old really had a jones to learn.  I handed her needles and yarn, and darned if she didn’t get about 5 stitches cast on.  It took us two days of “can I finish this tomorrow?” but she’d always be good on it, and come back to it the next day.  She was in love with the blue yarn, but I’d told her that was for her other aunt.  Turns out, everyone agreed that she was better off with green.  So I surprised my niece with a hat in the blue yarn she loved, and used green for the aunt.  Then niecey wanted to keep the red yarn.  And the blue needles she practiced with.  I was down with that, but then when her old sister asked for a hat, specifically made from the red yarn I’d just given away, things got sticky.

Long story short, the five-year-old is a tough bargainer, but in the end gave up the red yarn for her sister, provided she got the left over yarn from all three hats.  We shook on it.  Sorry to say, those hats didn’t leave much left over!

I followed a pattern I found on Ravelry, called Sisters Hat, by Janet Gallagher.  I thought it was super cool that mountains inspired the hat.  Specifically, mountains in Oregon, where my fellow aunt recently called home.  Since Auntie has moved to the mountains in Colorado, the pattern still worked for what I wanted.  I just felt like it was right, ya know?

So, pattern, yarn, and needles in hand I set out to make this hat over a weekend and teach my niece to knit at the same time.  It turned into 3 hats in a weekend and both the niece and the boy all taught up.  He’s since purchased his own needles and yarn and is planning on embarking on a scarf or something.  If memory serves, I made us a lot of scarves while I was learning.

The blue hat is for the 5yo, shown modelling it here.  She never took that puppy off, even at the fancy dinner we took her to on Sunday to celebrate our houselessness.  It fit me, even.  In fact, all three hats are the same size.  I followed the pattern exactly, except I did one fewer repeat to the pattern, knocking it all down to 70 stitches rather than 84.  I think my gauge might have been the culprit there.  Either way, fitting an adult head is no biggie for making a kid’s hat.  Just make sure the hat can be rolled up at the brim.  See how there’s a lot of roll on the blue hat (on the kid) but not much brim rolling on the red hat?  Yarn is so fantastic and accomodating.

The green hat is for the mountain-mama aunt, here modelled by her brother.  I got the pattern dead on for this hat.  I think I did a lot of the knitting during guitar hero one night.  Actually, I think that same night the brother cajoled me to try expert on a few songs.  I did.  It mostly rocked, right around 84%.  Not too shabby!

And finally, the red(dish) hat is for the 7yo niece.  This one had some issues on the pattern.  I think I was somewhere through a bottle of wine when I noticed they weren’t lining up all the way around.  Oh well.

red-hatSince I finished it around 2am the night before my 5:50am flight, there was no one up to model it but me, and I was leaving them to find on the table the next morning.  I was like the hat-fairy.  The hat fairy should let the dishes- and lottery-fairies know they’re completely slacking.  I’m just sayin’.

Well, hats off to those of you still stuck in cold places. It’s 80 out today and delightfully breezy.  My crazy buggy rhinestoned sunglasses were employed at guild lunch (a very small affair today) and soon I’ll be adding a frosty adult bevvie to that.  Long live “spring” in Texas!  *achoo!*  Fuck.

Leave a Reply

